Vivid Blue Cut Crease Tutorial, Vintageortacky, MakeupBee

Vivid Blue Cut Crease Tutorial

Hello, Lovelies!

 
I am so crazy about this look. I have been loving the cut crease tutorials on YouTube forever. You probably already know how much I love Cora, vintageortacky on YouTube, and my favorite looks are her bright cut crease tutorials. She is amazing! But, anyway, I never thought I could pull it off–I don’t have much lid space, for one. I think my eyes are just getting older or something, the skin is starting to hang in the weirdest ways! Ugh.
 

Can you see how it sort of hangs down? Anyway, I thought this look was off-limits to me for the longest time. Those of us with small eyes usually keep our eyeshadow pretty low to avoid that “I don’t know what I’m doing/on my way to the circus” kind of look. But, after watching Cora’s last Sailor Moon inspired tutorial (did anybody else really enjoy that whole series? I loved it), I decided that I was going to figure out a way to make the cut crease work for me.
 

On the first try, I went darkest shade first–just like most people do it. FAIL. By the time I added the lighter colors, I was up to my brow in dark blue shadows. The key to getting this look right when you have smaller eyes is to map it out with your lightest crease color going on first. You want to leave some space for a highlight, but when I started out with the sky blue and worked my way down to the crease everything applied much more beautifully. It takes a little more “back and forth” blending, but it works.

In a previous post, I told you how I was trying to make the Maybelline Color Explosion palettes work. Here is a picture of the blue one featured in this tutorial. It is #20. Blue Blowout.

After applying Too Faced Shadow Insurance and scotch tape from lower lashes to the end of my brow, I started out with the matte light blue shadow, blending it with my MAC 217 brush above my crease to almost my brow. I then went into the glittery darker blue right across from the sky blue, using a MAC 226 to begin carving out the crease. Then I used my Maybelline Define-A-Line in Navy Blue to create the cut crease. I traced an arc right above my natural crease (lifting my brow as needed). Then I blended it all together until I got the gradient I wanted. Next, I added my favorite bright highlight, the white/blurple duochrome from Kat Von D’s True Love palette. Super simple.

Here is a peek at the lid color

After that, it was all about figuring out which lid color to use. I have been wanting to use the magenta shade from my Sleek Acid palette for a while, so after applying NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow in Milk I patted that on. On top of it, I dabbed on some matching glitter from Claire’s (have I mentioned how wonderful this palette is? I am going to do a comparison between it and NYX when I receive it from HauteLook…). Then, it was just a matter of adding some flirty lashes, in this case Ardell’s 105 full lashes–and of course, doing waterline/tightline/mascara.

I am definitely going to send this look to Cora. I sent her a tweet with a photo, and she told me to send it even though I had originally used L’oreal mascara. She is against companies that test on animals, and I didn’t know until after I filmed this that they do. So, I refilmed it using MAC’s Haute & Naughty mascara. 😉 I want everything on my end to be the best that I can make it before I send it.

I am also going to add this look to MakeupBee, which is a really neat site if you haven’t seen it. People upload their different makeup looks, and some of it is so beautiful that it makes me want to cry. Seriously. These ladies and gents are so talented. I told you before how I was comparing myself to other people, and MakeupBee sent me home with my tail between my legs for about a week! haha A lot of the amazing talents on Beautylish and YouTube are on Makeup Bee–and its a neat way to see what a whole bunch of people are doing at once. It can be daunting to try and find new gurus to watch on YouTube. And on Beautylish, there are so many people uploading their videos that it can be hard to watch them all. Same thing. The neat thing about MakeupBee is that you just see the finished look at first, so you can browse really easily. Check it out if you want to see amazing artistry. These people give the big YT gurus a run for their money!

I wanted to say just one more thing about YouTube, MakeupBee–and makeup in general. This is supposed to be fun! From my last post, you can tell that I was getting a little too wrapped up in getting noticed and all those things. I don’t know about you, but I am a person who firmly believes that energy is everything–as in, we are all basically little clumps of energy and what we emit matters because its what determines what we get back in. I notice this all around me, when I am in a good state of mind things just seem to roll more smoothly-but when I am anxious or stressed I seem to meet with obstacles. I wasn’t letting all this be fun, and I can tell as I look over stuff from a few months ago. Its just different somehow. I was always trying so hard to make a lot of material so that people would find it in searches, trying to post it everywhere, trying to “get noticed”. LOL But, at the end of the day, it was too stressful to call it really fun.

This look was pure fun. I think that you can see it all over my face. Of course, I hope you enjoy it–but even if not its okay because I sure as hell did. I pimped this eye makeup around all day, I didn’t even rip the lashes off which is really something for me.

Ok, so I have blabbered enough for one post. Please let me know what you think about this tutorial/look! I will let you know FOR SURE if I end up on VintageorTacky!

Best Wishes,

–Cookie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kassie
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 04:44:08

    This is such a gorgeous look! Your comments about beauty communities made me laugh because sometimes I feel the same way! I’m so glad that you like Makeubee and Beautylish, they are really wonderful tools to get inspiration. I have a huge folder on my desktop full of inspiring makeup looks, I don’t think I will every get through them all. I am loving your blog girly! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Vintage or Tacky

Fashion Makeup Plus Size Life + Style

