Evolution

Basic Smokey Eye Tutorial

Hello, Lovelies! I am currently working on a mini-series all about smokey eyes. This first Basic Smokey Eye Tutorial was requested by my friend Jessica! We were talking about some of the more advanced tutorials, like the Leopard Print Eye Tutorial, and she was saying that she would really enjoy learning how to do something more wearable. This is what I came up with…

Wearable Eyeshadow, Who Woulda Thunk It?

This was supposed to be a two-part miniseries, with the second video featuring a darker, more sultry smokey eye using darker bases to pull out a different effect from the same Ulta eyeshadows. Great in theory, awful in reality. I didn’t like the way it turned out both times I filmed it, it was a little bit too Avril Lavigne (no offense, I love her look actually) and a little bit too little of what I was going for (read, Kim Kardashian). Isn’t that always the way? 

Smokey Eyes + Glitter = My Kinda Look!

Flash forward a few days. I have learned that if I just let a video go sometimes, I benefit from it in the long run. I was playing around with smokey eye looks before work last week when I came up with this glittery smokey eye look. Its so me, its not funny! LOL

Gunmetal-Blue Glittery Smokey Eye

This one was a breeze to edit, which is always a plus. I take it as a sign that it was meant to be. ;)

 
So, on to the evolution of my channel…
 
YouTube has very kindly invited me to monetize my videos. I actually went back and forth a little bit over whether or not to do it, I mean, I never really set out to make money off video views. In the end, I came up with a really cool solution! You can see by the ads now displayed in most of my videos that I did monetize–but I am not going to keep any of the money, at least for the time being. For the rest of 2011, and who knows how far beyond, all of the money is going to go to an organization called Look Good, Feel Better (a division of the American Cancer Society whose mission is to help women, men, and children affected by cancer to find ways to look and feel good while they undergo treatment–and lose their hair, etc). This organization is close to my heart, they have really helped a close friend of mine as she undergoes radiation (she’s in her last week, though! yay!). We are about to film a video showing you some of the products cosmetic companies donated, as well as some of the tips she learned in her class–and I hope that you would be so kind to share it with your friends and family. The more clicks this video has, the more money raised for this wonderful cause! It is completely free! I will let you know how much money is raised, and of course, if I ever stop donating it or choose another orgranization I will always be upfront about that, too.
 
My channel will be evolving in other ways, as well. After much observation, and much honest soul-searching, I have decided to slow down a bit. I am going to be more about quality over quantity, to be honest. Not everything I film will be uploaded. LOL I want to bring you quality makeup tutorials, and I already have so many ideas as to how to up the “entertainment value” of my tutorials. I have noticed that my best tutorials are the ones in which I don’t over-explain…I find that I talk way too much at times, even though it has never been my intention to do so. I am also not going to film just because I feel like I need to, as in feeling like I have to come up with something every single weekend or because I have a few free minutes. I will be bringing you more hauls and plus size fashion videos. As always, I would love to hear your thoughts.
 
Above anything else, I want you to know how much I appreciate you watching my videos–and reading this blog. It still blows my mind that over 70 people actually have an interest in my thoughts on makeup! I am loving getting to know you both on YouTube and over Twitter! Every single day, I learn something new–and its my goal to share what I know, especially as it changes, with you. YouTube has a huge, incredible beauty community–and that you would take the time to watch, comment, and subscribe…well, that’s just amazing. So, thank you. I see all of this growing into something truly special, and I am so thankful for all of you letting people know about me. It blows my mind, really.
 
Be Blessed, Always
 
–cookie
One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin Angell
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 01:58:18

    Stephanie, this is so awesome! I’m so incredibly proud of what you’ve accomplished with your filming. You have such a fabulous style and I’m glad the world is able to see it! I think it’s amazing that you are choosing to donate the money to such a great cause. Just more reasons why you’re such an awesome person! I’m so blessed to be able to call you a friend. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Vintageortacky

Makeup & Curvy Fashion Blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

